數位影像創作,色彩校正不可或缺

什么是色彩校正?

编辑和处理数字影像的过程,目的是修改影像,以便传达特定意图。色彩校正是微调显示器以准确显示颜色和阴影的过程,将您在画面上看到的内容与成品呈现的样子同步化。可以将校正设想为使用卷尺来判断长度,而不是只用双眼来判断。

为什么要色彩校正?

如果不能以最佳的方式呈现,那么花时间创造出这样的影像有什么用处?由于您的显示器是您在数字编辑过程中强大的盟友,因此确保显示器上的色彩输出对于精确复制预期成品是重要关键。如果未正确校正显示器上的色彩输出,显示器上则会出现不一致的色彩。这样,任何对影像的修改、微调、后期处理的努力都将白费,因为当成品显示于其他设备或打印时,会产生差异。这种损失的代价是牺牲可用于其他项目上的宝贵时间和精力,还可能在工作流程中产生瓶颈。

事实上,专业摄影师、业余摄影师以及图形设计师使用未校正的显示器工作时需要多达三倍的反复打印及修改,才能获得可接受的样本。实质上,在已校正的显示器上工作可提高效率和减少资源浪费 (例如时间和成本),更加接近想要呈现的成品效果。

显示器色彩变化

显示器的色彩和亮度会随着时间自然改变。

当试图为每种颜色找到正确的阴影值时,以线性方式显示色彩可能造成配对错误。3D LUT使用体积色彩空间产生色彩,这能更加准确显示色彩并减少校正误差。3D LUT 有助于建立更好的色彩渐层,并用于表示存在于现实生活中的非线性值。当能够更佳配对色彩浓淡以建立更佳色彩重现时,尤其是在编辑过程或使用者处理色度、色调和亮度的时候,则可呈现更宽的色域范围和色彩饱和度。将一个色彩空间转换成另一个色彩环境的成效更佳。当将一个色彩空间转换为另一个色彩空间时,3D LUT 更为精确,可减少原始色域中遗失的色彩信息。3D LUT 的非线性行为改善了中间色彩渐层,从而提高了灰阶准确度。


生产期间的问题
液晶显示器 (Liquid Crystal Display,LCD) 由三个主要部分组成;背光、LCD 光阀矩阵以及红色、绿色和蓝色滤光器组件矩阵。由于材料批次的变化和影响光学性质的制造公差等原因,这三个部分可能会受到范围变化的影响。因为 LCD 显示器面板的性质原因,在最初工厂未接受预先校正的情况下,最常发生这种显示器生产期间不一致的状况。ViewSonic VP2468在出厂时的预先校正以及个别随附的色彩校正报告,可视为这些问题的解决方案,以确保一开始的色彩准确性。

长期使用问题
材料性质因暴露于高温、潮湿、紫外线 (UV) 辐射等而随着使用时间变化。这些变化会影响背光和色彩输出质量、LCD 偏振/光传输效率以及衰减滤光器的光谱透射率。然而,这些问题可以通过软件和硬件校正方法解决。

软件校正和硬件校正
有两种类型的校正方法可将显示器设定为定义良好的状态;一为软件校正,一为硬件校正。这两种校正方式差别在于它们提供的精确度和灵活性。 。

软件色彩校正

使用软件校正时,先选择要使用的伽马值进行。下一步则是将黑色 (亮度) 和白色 (色彩) 等级设定为最佳值。接着,将测量一组色标,以确定显示器的显示能力,以产生内部的 ICC 色彩描述档,这是根据由国际色彩联盟 (International Color Consortium,ICC) 提出的标准进行设定的描述档。此 ICC 描述文件随后供操作系统用于执行颜色管理,并且可作为持续颜色管理的方法。由于此类型的校正方法是由用户进行,软件校正所产生的缺点可能既难以改善又耗费时间,同时还包含与精确度相关的问题。关于使用显示器的色彩调整功能和视频卡输出引起的渐层特性,会出现显著的缺点。可能会发生着色等渐层偏差问题和其他损坏,这会影响显示器显示细微色差的能力,并影响整体渐层显示。使用没有颜色调整功能的显示器工作时,这些偏差可能更加明显。硬件色彩校正也是通过选择要使用的伽马以及设定亮度和对比度进行。通过硬件校正,使用专门的硬件校正传感器确定并捕捉显示器的显示能力并进行校正。 Viewonic Colorbration 套件包含ViewSonic与 X-Rite 共同开发的 CS-XRi1 色彩传感器,如下图所示。

由于通过硬件校正建立的描述文件类型不受图形适配器的影响,因此不论主计算机为何,此方法都能随时存取描述档。由于硬件校正直接控制显示器,此种校正类型提供高精准度的良好渐层特性。可依据所需的数字影像创作类型,提供高精准度的不同控制方法。用户可利用硬件寻找表 (LUT)自定义色彩模式,以进行色彩微调及额外调整。精确控制显示器的色域则能够以极高准确性模拟 Adobe RGB 或 sRGB。可精确地控制黑阶,且黑阶在软式打样过程中至关重要。通过显示器全亮度范围的精确校正并消除数字分辨率的损失,则为此方法的另一益处。

结论

以长期和专业的校正解决方案来说,硬件校正的益处远远超过软件校正。硬件校正功能的显著益处在于可校准图形适配器和显示器,达到持续的色彩输出一致性和准确性,此为软件校正所不能提供的功能。对于使用高质量影像或在专业设计环境中工作的状况而言,硬件校正着实提升了工作流程的效率,并提供稳定一致的工作质量。。

 

本文中演示的所有图像与影片,皆为模拟及展示使用,可能与实际显示效果稍有差异。

Color Calibration is Essential for Creating Digital Imagery

What is Color Calibration?

During the editing and processing of digital images, the goal is to tailor imagery in order to communicate a specific intention. Color calibration is the process of fine-tuning a monitor in order to accurately display colors and shading, so as to synchronize what you see on your screen with what it will look like as a finished product. Calibration can be envisioned as the difference between using a tape measurer to judge length as opposed to just using your eye.

Why Color Calibration?

What’s the use in taking time to create great imagery if it’s not going to be seen that way? As your monitor is going to be your strongest ally during the digital editing process, it is important to ensure that the color output on your monitor is a precise replication of the finished product intended. When color output on your monitor is not calibrated correctly, inconsistencies in the color output of your monitor will arise. As a result, any effort put into tweaking and fine-tuning images will to go to loss, as the finished product will not come out consistent with the way it was designed when displayed on the monitor. This loss comes at the expense of valuable time and effort that could otherwise be put to use on other projects and can create a bottleneck in the workflow.

In fact, profession and enthusiasts photographers as well as graphic designers working from non-calibrated display monitors take up to three times as many print iterations to achieve an acceptable sample as those working from a calibrated display in a safe color viewing environment. In essence, working from a calibrated display serves as a means to boosting efficiency and reducing wasted resources such as time and costs, making the difference between guessing how a finished product will look and knowing how it will look.

Monitor Color Variation

Monitor color and luminance will change naturally over time for a multitude of reasons.

Displaying color in a linear way can create errors for matching while trying to find the correct shade values for each color. 3D LUTs are much better because they produce color using a volumetric color space, which is more accurate and reduces calibration errors. 3D LUTs are needed to help create better color graduation and help express the non-linear values that exist in real life. A wider color gamut and saturation are expressed while having the ability to better match shades of colors that create better color reproduction, especially during the editing process or when users manipulate chroma, hue and brightness. Converting one color space into another color environment is done better. When converting one color space to another, 3D LUTs are more precise, reducing lost color information from the original color gamut. Intermediate color gradation is improved due to the nonlinear behavior of 3D LUTs, enhancing gray scale accuracy.


Issues During Production
A Liquid Crystal Display (LCD) monitor is composed of three main components; a backlight, a matrix of LCD light valves, and a matrix of red, green, and blue filter elements. Naturally, these three components are subject to a wide range of variations for reasons such as batch-to-batch variation of materials and manufacturing tolerances that affect optical properties. Due to the nature of LCD monitor panels, it is especially common for most monitors to face issues related to these inconsistencies during production when not first receiving a pre-calibration from the factory. Monitors such as the Viewsonic VP2468, which come pre-calibrated with an individual color calibration report included from the factory, act as a solution to these issues to ensure color accuracy from the start.

Issues Over Long Term Usage
There are also material properties that can change with regular usage over time stemming from exposure to heat, humidity, ultra-violet (UV) radiation, etc. The variations can be seen to have an effect on backlight and color output quality, LCD polarization/light transmission efficiency, and fading filter spectral transmittance. These issues, however, can be counteracted by the means of calibration via software and hardware calibration.

Software Calibration and Hardware Calibration
There are two types of calibration methods for setting a monitor to a well-defined state; one being software calibration and the other being hardware calibration. These two types of calibrations range in the amount of precision and flexibility they deliver.

Software Color Calibration

Software calibration is conducted by first selecting a gamma to use, which will allow for a maximum range of colors your system can display. The next step involves setting black (brightness) and white (color) levels to their optimum values. A set of color patches will then be measured to determine the limits of the monitor’s display capabilities to generate an internal ICC color profile, which is a profile set in accordance with the standards put in place by the International Color Consortium. The ICC profile is then used by the operating system to perform color management and can be used as a method for ongoing color management. As this type of calibration is conducted by the user, drawbacks resulting from software calibration are that it can be both difficult and time consuming and include issues relating to precision, as a result. The most notable drawbacks can occur with regards to gradation characteristics stemming from the use of a monitor’s color-adjustment function and video-card output. Gradation deviations such as tinting and other damages can occur, which impact the monitor’s ability to display minor color differences and affect overall gradation display. These deviations can be even more drastic when working from a monitor with no color-adjustment function. Hardware Color Calibration Hardware calibration is also conducted by selecting a gamma to use and setting brightness and contrast levels. With hardware calibration, a specialized hardware calibration sensor is used to determine the limits of a monitor’s display capabilities captured at monitor level. Sensors can come as part of a kit, as is the case with the Viewsonic Colorbration kit, which comes included with the CS-XRi1 color sensor that has been co-developed with X-Rite, pictured below.

As the types of profiles created with hardware calibration are independent of the graphics card, this method allows for access to the profile anytime regardless of the host computer. Since hardware calibration controls the monitor directly, this type of calibration offers good gradation characteristics with high precision. There are a range of different controls that can be controlled with high precision depending on the type of digital image creation required. Accessibility to the hardware look-up table (LUT) allows for a more customizable color mode to fine tune colors and make further adjustments. Precise control of the monitor’s gamut is available with the ability to simulate Adobe RGB or sRGB with very high accuracy. Black level can be controlled with precision and is of major importance during the soft proofing process. Precise calibration through the full luminance range of the display without the loss of digital resolution is another benefit of this method.

Conclusion

As a long term and professional calibration solution, the benefits of hardware calibration greatly outweigh the benefits achieved by software calibration. A notable benefit of the functionality of hardware calibration allows for alignment of the graphics card and monitor scalar for a long-term consistency and accuracy of color output, which the more limited software calibration method is not able to provide. For those working with high quality imagery or within a professional design environment, hardware calibration serves as an excellent resource for a more efficient workflow and consistent quality of work.

 

All the images or videos within the product screens herein are simulated for demonstration purposes only; they may not be the actual images or videos displayed in the products screens.